top of page

Baz Luhrmann Introduces Austin Butler for the Palm Springs Breakthrough Artist Award



The following awards were presented at this year’s Film Awards: Cate Blanchett (Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actress), Austin Butler (Breakthrough Performance Award, Actor), Viola Davis (Chairman’s Award for acting and producing), Danielle Deadwyler (Breakthrough Performance Award, Actress), Colin Farrell (Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actor), Brendan Fraser (Spotlight Award), Bill Nighy (International Star Award, Actor), Sarah Polley (Director of the Year Award), Michelle Yeoh (International Star Award, Actress), The Fabelmans - director Steven Spielberg, producer Kristie Macosko Krieger and cast members Michelle Williams, Paul Dano, Seth Rogen, Gabriel LaBelle, Judd Hirsch, Julia Butters, Sam Rechner, and Keeley Karsten (Vanguard Award).

Presenters were: Cate Blanchett, Hong Chau, Jamie Lee Curtis, Sally Field, Brian Tyree Henry, Stephanie Hsu, Eric Idle, Kazuo Ishiguro, Baz Luhrmann and Sam Rockwell.

Other guests included festival representative Lili Rodriguez (Artistic Director); Phillip Keene, Udo Kier, Thuso Mbedu (The Woman King), Gina Prince-Bythewood (The Woman King), Julius Tennon (The Woman King), Todd Field (Tár) and Nina Hoss (Tár).

The 34th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival (PSIFF), held its Film Awards Gala at the Palm Springs Convention Center on Thursday, January 5, 2023, co-hosted by Entertainment Tonight’s Kevin Frazier and Nischelle Turner. Honorees were presented with either the John Kennedy "The Entertainer" statue or a Chihuly Glass Sculpture. The event was presented by American Express and sponsored by Entertainment Tonight and IHG Hotels & Resorts.

79 views0 comments
bottom of page